Member History

Cheryl Adams (Retired)
Board of Directors 7/2002-6/2004
Regional Committee North Chair 7/2002- 6/2004

William Agee
Board of Directors 7/92-6/96, 7/2009-6/2016
Legislative Committee 7/92- 6/1995
Membership Committee 1992/93
Membership Committee (south) 2011/12
History Committee Chair- since 1999
Publications Committee- 7/2012- 6/2013
Regionalization Committee Chair- 1995/96
Regionalization Committee- 1992/93, 1995/96, 7/2010- 6/2015

Willie Arnold
Education Committee 12/2019-6/2023
Website Committee 12/2019-6/2023

Jacki Athey
Board of Directors 7/2017-6/2023
Membership Committee Central Chair 7/2019- 6/2023
Nominating Committee Chair 7/2022-6/2021
Publications Committee 7/2007- 6/2008; 7/2019- 6/2021
Regional Chair 7/2017- 6/2019
Website Committee 7/2007- 6/2008

Read more ...


The Illinois Municipal Treasurers Association was established to promote the general and professional interests of municipal treasurers in Illinois and their respective municipalities: to obtain a higher standard of efficiency, to improve service and relations with allied institutions, and to inspire friendly and fraternal feelings among the members.

In the beginning, there was only one municipal treasurer's association --it was based in California.  Most of its members were naturally from California, although its membership was open to all. There was a need for an association that could concentrate on the needs of municipalities and their treasurers here in Illinois.

Our Illinois Association met as a committee during its formulation period, which lasted nearly two years. The IMTA was officially organized during the Illinois Municipal League Conference at the Chicago Hilton in the fall of 1973 with seventeen treasurers as its charter membership.


1974/75 Springfield Springfield Hilton    
1975/76 Springfield Springfield Hilton Robert Williams Waukegan
1976/77 Springfield Springfield Hilton Earl Hoenes Naperville
1977/78 Rantoul Redwood Inn Myrtle Dunn Robbins
1978/79 Springfield Springfield Hilton Homer Liebig Belleville
1979/80 Springfield Springfield Hilton David Russek Schaumburg
1980/81 Peoria Pierre Marquette Robert Meisner Breese
1981/82 No Conference      
1982/83 Springfield Springfield Hilton Kenneth Talken Quincy
1983/84 Peoria Continental Regency    
1984/85 Danville Sheraton "Pete"Scherzer Pana
1985/86 Springfield Sheraton Donna Beitel Oswego
1986/87 Peoria Continental Regency Eldora Gulcynski Rockford
1987/88 Peoria Continental Regency Mary A. Ulrich Peoria
1988/89 Springfield Springfield Hilton Mary A. Ulrich Peoria
1989/90 Peoria Jumers Castle James McGill North Pekin
1990/91 Springfield Springfield Hilton Robert Gordon Washington
1991/92 Alton Alton Holiday Inn Elizabeth "Bette" Booth Dolton
1992/93 Urbana Jumers Castle Brad Bettenhausen Tinley Park
1993/94 Utica Starved Rock Lodge Dennis Thiel Paris
1994/95 Springfield Ramada Renaissance Ken Mundy Sycamore
1995/96 Rockford Clock Tower Inn Judith Madonia
Barbara Wolf
1996/97 Effingham Ramada Kathleen Green Effingham
1997/98 Galesburg Jumers Castle Sophie Pearson Island Lake
1998/99 Decatur Holiday Inn Raul Menendez Aurora
1999/00 St.Charles Pheasant Run Ruth Garner Forsyth
2000/01 Peoria Holiday Inn Dan Beiser Alton
2001/02 Collinsville Holiday Inn Michael Peterson Grayslake
2002/03 Springfield Crowne Plaza Michael Peterson Grayslake
2003/04 Tinley Park Holiday Inn Jack Walde Algonquin
2004/05 Quincy Holiday Inn Janet Goehst Plano
2005/06 Chicago Holiday Inn City Centre Barbara Beshears Lisle Woodridge FPD
2006/07 Fairview Hts Four Points Sheraton Bob Mullins Machesney Park
2007/08 Bloomington Doubletree Bob Mullins Machesney Park
2008/09 Rockford Clock Tower Inn Jim Langfelder Springfield
2009/10 Springfield Crowne Plaza Jim Langfelder Springfield
2010/11 O'Fallon Hilton Garden Inn Ron Vander Band Plano
2011/12 Champaign Hilton Garden Inn Kenneth Robinson North Chicago
2012/13 Galena Eagle Ridge Resort Janice Colvin Palos Heights
2013/14 Springfield Springfield Hilton Clint Lichtenwalter Clinton
2014/15 Fairview Heights Four Points Sheraton Gail Valle Granite City
2015/16 Chicago Hilton Towers Scott Borror Glen Carbon
2016/17 Champaign Hilton Gardens Alta Long Tuscola
2017/18 Carbondale Holiday Inn Michael Peterson Lincolnshire
2018/19 Springfield Crowne Plaza Dean Hardt Beleville
2019/20 Utica Grizzly Jack's Kent Oliven Alsip
2020/21 Cancelled-COVID Conference Call Kent Oliven Niles
2021/22 Cancelled-COVID Conference Call Misty Buscher Springfield



    •     GATA regional meetings


    •     Pension Administrator Certification Program


      •     Facebook account established


      •     Complete website overhaul


      •     Hosted IMTA's first webinar featuring FDIC coverage


      •     Introduced "Zoomerangs" as a means of polling our members


      •     Establish "The Illinois Funds Partnership Program" with State Treasurer
      •     Add "E-Help" files to website


      •     Electronic Public Relations form
      •     "Buddy Program" at Treasurers Institute


      •     IMTA E-Help program (7/1/2002)
      •     Presented five sessions of APT's "Disaster Preparedness for Finance"


      •     Signed a contractual agreement with Eastern Illinois University for Association Coordinator services provided by JoEllen Hickenbottom.
      •     Created procedures outlining the duties and important dates for each officer.


      •     Established relations with IGFOA for co-sponsoring future education events
      •     Improved Legislative Committee's efforts


      •     9/99  Roundtable meetings can count towards certification points.
      •     IMTA Standing Rules


      •     Immediate Past President has board voting privileges
      •     Cash Handling Training programs were introduced
      •     11/98  IMTA Homepage went on-line



Mary Ulrich, Peoria recalls "Mildred Arends had the first meeting in Peoria and it was a luncheon meeting, year unknown.  Janice Tellier, Springfield was the first paid membership coordinator.  There was a Treasurer from East Moline that kept records prior to Janice, however she did not provide us with the records when she left as Treasurer."

It is heavy heart that I report the passing of one of our honorary members, June Schumacher.  Jan 2012  More about June
Janet Goehst