REGIONALIZATION: Bringing the Association to You!

The division of our state into regions was first discussed in 1979 as a means of cutting travel costs of seminar participants. Because of the large area covered by our State, it was believed that meetings on a  regional basis would provide a more convenient service to Illinois treasurers.

The state was divided into four regions: the Chicago area, and the Northern, Central, and Southern regions. The Southern region was the first to organize, when it held a seminar and business in Mt. Vernon in 1983.  By 1984, all regions outside the Chicago area had organized and held seminars.  The regions continue to meet periodically.