The Illinois Municipal Treasurers Association was established to promote the general and professional interests of municipal treasurers in Illinois and their respective municipalities: to obtain a higher standard of efficiency, to improve service and relations with allied institutions, and to inspire friendly and fraternal feelings among the members.

In the beginning, there was only one municipal treasurer's association --it was based in California.  Most of its members were naturally from California, although its membership was open to all. There was a need for an association that could concentrate on the needs of municipalities and their treasurers here in Illinois.

Our Illinois Association met as a committee during its formulation period, which lasted nearly two years. The IMTA was officially organized during the Illinois Municipal League Conference at the Chicago Hilton in the fall of 1973 with seventeen treasurers as its charter membership.


1974/75 Springfield Springfield Hilton    
1975/76 Springfield Springfield Hilton Robert Williams Waukegan
1976/77 Springfield Springfield Hilton Earl Hoenes Naperville
1977/78 Rantoul Redwood Inn Myrtle Dunn Robbins
1978/79 Springfield Springfield Hilton Homer Liebig Belleville
1979/80 Springfield Springfield Hilton David Russek Schaumburg
1980/81 Peoria Pierre Marquette Robert Meisner Breese
1981/82 No Conference      
1982/83 Springfield Springfield Hilton Kenneth Talken Quincy
1983/84 Peoria Continental Regency    
1984/85 Danville Sheraton "Pete"Scherzer Pana
1985/86 Springfield Sheraton Donna Beitel Oswego
1986/87 Peoria Continental Regency Eldora Gulcynski Rockford
1987/88 Peoria Continental Regency Mary A. Ulrich Peoria
1988/89 Springfield Springfield Hilton Mary A. Ulrich Peoria
1989/90 Peoria Jumers Castle James McGill North Pekin
1990/91 Springfield Springfield Hilton Robert Gordon Washington
1991/92 Alton Alton Holiday Inn Elizabeth "Bette" Booth Dolton
1992/93 Urbana Jumers Castle Brad Bettenhausen Tinley Park
1993/94 Utica Starved Rock Lodge Dennis Thiel Paris
1994/95 Springfield Ramada Renaissance Ken Mundy Sycamore
1995/96 Rockford Clock Tower Inn Judith Madonia
Barbara Wolf
1996/97 Effingham Ramada Kathleen Green Effingham
1997/98 Galesburg Jumers Castle Sophie Pearson Island Lake
1998/99 Decatur Holiday Inn Raul Menendez Aurora
1999/00 St.Charles Pheasant Run Ruth Garner Forsyth
2000/01 Peoria Holiday Inn Dan Beiser Alton
2001/02 Collinsville Holiday Inn Michael Peterson Grayslake
2002/03 Springfield Crowne Plaza Michael Peterson Grayslake
2003/04 Tinley Park Holiday Inn Jack Walde Algonquin
2004/05 Quincy Holiday Inn Janet Goehst Plano
2005/06 Chicago Holiday Inn City Centre Barbara Beshears Lisle Woodridge FPD
2006/07 Fairview Hts Four Points Sheraton Bob Mullins Machesney Park
2007/08 Bloomington Doubletree Bob Mullins Machesney Park
2008/09 Rockford Clock Tower Inn Jim Langfelder Springfield
2009/10 Springfield Crowne Plaza Jim Langfelder Springfield
2010/11 O'Fallon Hilton Garden Inn Ron Vander Band Plano
2011/12 Champaign Hilton Garden Inn Kenneth Robinson North Chicago
2012/13 Galena Eagle Ridge Resort Janice Colvin Palos Heights
2013/14 Springfield Springfield Hilton Clint Lichtenwalter Clinton
2014/15 Fairview Heights Four Points Sheraton Gail Valle Granite City
2015/16 Chicago Hilton Towers Scott Borror Glen Carbon
2016/17 Champaign Hilton Gardens Alta Long Tuscola
2017/18 Carbondale Holiday Inn Michael Peterson Lincolnshire
2018/19 Springfield Crowne Plaza Dean Hardt Beleville
2019/20 Utica Grizzly Jack's Kent Oliven Alsip
2020/21 Springfield Crowne Plaza tbd tbd